The Roman Catholic Diocese of Opole (Latin: Opoliensis) is a diocese situated in the city of Opole, which falls under the Ecclesiastical province of Katowice in Poland. This article aims to provide a comprehensive understanding of the diocese, including its history, significant structures, and leadership over the years.



The Roman Catholic presence in Opole has a rich history dating back to medieval times. However, the formal structure we now know as the Roman Catholic Diocese of Opole underwent several changes before taking its present form.

Key Dates

  • 1945: Initially established as the Apostolic Administration of Opole.
  • 28 June 1972: Formally established as the Diocese of Opole, becoming part of the ecclesiastical province of Wrocław. The new diocese was carved out from the Upper Silesian part of the Archdiocese of Wrocław and the General Vicariate of Branice of the Archdiocese of Olmütz.
  • 25 March 1992: Became part of the ecclesiastical province of Katowice and lost some territory to establish the Diocese of Gliwice.

Geographical Coverage

The diocese encompasses the city of Opole and extends its jurisdiction to surrounding areas, focusing predominantly on the Catholic community of the region.

Special Churches

Minor Basilica

  • Sanktuarium św. Anny on the Góra Świętej Anny (Saint Anne’s Mountain): This is a Minor Basilica and is one of the special churches that fall under the diocese.


Bishops of Opole (Roman rite)

  • Bishop Franciszek Jop: Served as the bishop from 1972 until his resignation on September 24, 1976.
  • Archbishop Alfons Nossol: Took over the leadership on June 25, 1977, and served until his resignation on August 14, 2009.
  • Bishop Andrzej Czaja: The current Bishop of Opole, he assumed office on August 14, 2009, and has been serving since then.