Surjya Narayan Patro, Indian politician, speaker of Odisha Legislative Assembly (2019–2022).

Previous Odisha Speaker and Digapahandi MLA, Surjya Narayan Patro died at a confidential medical clinic in Bhubaneswar on Saturday. He was 75.

According to reports, Patro’s health deteriorated and he was admitted to the hospital this afternoon.

Patro was a seven-time lawmaker and the sitting BJD MLA of Digapahandi.

Patro was brought into the world on December 24, 1948 at Berhampur in Ganjam. Before entering politics, he completed his BSc and LLB, served in the social sector. In 1977, Surjya Patro turned into the Metropolitan Councilor of Berhampur.

He won the Gathering races for seven continuous terms. In 1990, he became the first person from Mohana to be elected as an MLA, and he held that position for four consecutive terms until 2009. He challenged and won from the Janata Dal in the initial two terms and afterward won from a similar voting demographic on BJD tickets.

Beginning around 2009, he had been the MLA of Digapahandi for three successive terms. As a clergyman in the Biju Patnaik and Naveen Patnaik legislatures, he held different significant portfolios. He was the Pastor of Backwoods and Climate, Energy, The travel industry, IT, Culture, Income, Data and Advertising, Food Supply and Purchaser Government assistance.

Surjya Narayan Patro took over as the Speaker of the Odisha Gathering in 2019 and surrendered in 2022.