The Australian Football Hall of Fame was established in 1996 to honor and celebrate the achievements and contributions of individuals to Australian rules football. It was a milestone year for the sport as it was also the Centenary year of the Australian Football League (AFL). Over the years, the Hall of Fame has inducted coaches, administrators, media personalities, and, most importantly, players who have had a significant impact on the game.

Historical Context

The year 1996 was not just another year in the world of Australian rules football. It marked the 100th anniversary of the AFL, making it an opportune moment to reflect on the rich history of the sport. This Centenary year provided the perfect backdrop for the establishment of the Australian Football Hall of Fame. The initiative aimed to recognize and immortalize the individuals who have shaped the sport over the years.

Purpose and Criteria

The Hall of Fame serves multiple functions:

  1. Recognition: To acknowledge the outstanding contributions made by individuals to the sport of Australian rules football.
  2. Education: To act as a historical account, educating future generations about the legends of the game.
  3. Inspiration: To inspire young and upcoming talents by showcasing the epitome of skill, commitment, and sportsmanship.

For an individual to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, they must have made a significant contribution to the game, exhibited exceptional skill, and demonstrated integrity and sportsmanship. The categories for induction are diverse, including:

  • Players
  • Coaches
  • Umpires
  • Administrators
  • Media Personnel

Notable Inductees


  • Gary Ablett Sr.: Known for his exceptional skill and flair, Ablett Sr. is often considered one of the greatest players in the history of the game.
  • Leigh Matthews: Nicknamed “Lethal Leigh” for his tough play, Matthews had an illustrious career as both a player and a coach.


  • Tom Hafey: A legendary figure in the coaching world, Hafey led his teams to multiple premierships.
  • Kevin Sheedy: Known for his innovation and strategic brilliance, Sheedy has been a transformative figure in the game.


  • Peter Carey: One of the most respected umpires in the history of the sport, Carey officiated over 300 games.
  • Brett Allen: Renowned for his fairness and consistency, Allen had a long and distinguished career.


  • Ron Evans: Instrumental in the commercial success of the AFL, Evans was a visionary leader.
  • Jill Lindsay: One of the first women to break into the administrative side of the sport, Lindsay made significant contributions to its growth.

Media Personnel

  • Mike Sheahan: A highly respected journalist, Sheahan has been an authoritative voice in the sport for decades.
  • Bruce McAvaney: A broadcaster who became synonymous with Australian rules football, McAvaney has been the voice of the sport for many years.


The Australian Football Hall of Fame is more than just a list of names or a physical space filled with memorabilia. It is a living history of Australian rules football, continually evolving to include new inductees who have made significant contributions to the sport. As the Hall of Fame grows, it continues to serve as a reminder of the rich heritage and cultural importance of the game in Australia.

From its inception in the Centenary year of the Australian Football League, the Australian Football Hall of Fame has played a pivotal role in celebrating the legends of Australian rules football. It serves as a repository of the game’s history, honors its most influential figures, and stands as a source of inspiration for future generations.

As the years go by, the Hall of Fame will undoubtedly continue to evolve, adding new names to its illustrious list and further enriching the tapestry of this uniquely Australian sport.