The Irish Free State was a sovereign state that existed from 1922 to 1937. It was created as a result of the Anglo-Irish Treaty of 1921, which ended the Irish War of Independence. The Irish Free State was a member of the British Commonwealth of Nations.

The Irish Free State had a population of about 3 million people. The capital was Dublin. The official languages were Irish and English. The currency was the Irish pound.

The Irish Free State was a parliamentary democracy. The head of state was the Governor-General, who was appointed by the British monarch. The head of government was the Taoiseach, who was elected by the Dáil Éireann, the lower house of the Oireachtas, the parliament of the Irish Free State.

The Irish Free State had a strong economy, based on agriculture and industry. The country was also a popular tourist destination.

In 1937, the Irish Free State was replaced by the Republic of Ireland.