Nebula is an American rock band that was originally formed in 1997 by guitarist Eddie Glass and drummer Ruben Romano. They left their previous band, Fu Manchu, to embark on this new musical endeavor. The band has seen various lineup changes and has released multiple studio albums, live albums, and EPs over the years.

Formation and Early Years

The band initially included Mark Abshire as the original bassist. Abshire stayed with the band until the recording of Atomic Ritual, which was notably produced by Chris Goss.

Lineup Changes and Hiatus

Dennis Wilson and Simon Moon (an alias for Eddie Glass) briefly took up bass duties until Tom Davies became the more permanent bassist. Drummer Rob Oswald replaced original member Ruben Romano in 2007. In August 2009, Adam Kriney, formerly of La Otracina, replaced Oswald on drums, but announced his departure in January 2010. He was replaced by Jimmy Sweet.

In early 2010, Nebula announced an indefinite hiatus. Eddie Glass later clarified that the band was “taking a break for a while” but were not breaking up.

Reunion and Recent Years

Nebula reunited in 2017 with drummer Michael Amster from Blaak Heat and Mondo Generator. They released their sixth studio album, Holy Shit, on June 7, 2019, under the Heavy Psych Sounds Records label. Their seventh studio album, Transmission from Mothership Earth, was released on July 22, 2022.

Tragically, bassist Tom Davies passed away from leukemia on September 5, 2023, at the age of 48.

Band Members

Current Members

  • Eddie Glass – guitar, vocals (1997–present)
  • Michael Amster – drums (2017–present)

Touring Members

  • Ranch Sironi – bass (2019, 2023–present)

Former Members

  • Ruben Romano – drums (1997–2007)
  • Mark Abshire – bass (1997–2003)
  • Isaiah Mitchell – bass (2003)
  • Dennis Wilson – bass (2003)
  • Tom Davies – bass (2003–2023)
  • Rob Oswald – drums (2007–2009)
  • Adam Kriney – drums (2009–2010)
  • Jimmy Sweet – drums (2010)


Studio Albums

  • To the Center – 1999 – Sub Pop
  • Charged – 2001 – Sub Pop
  • Atomic Ritual – 2003 – Liquor and Poker
  • Apollo – 2006 – Liquor and Poker
  • Heavy Psych – 2009 – Tee Pee
  • Holy Shit – 2019 – Heavy Psych Sounds
  • Transmission from Mothership Earth – 2022 – Heavy Psych Sounds

Split Albums and EPs

  • Various titles under labels like Last Scream Records, Tee Pee, MeteorCity, Liquor and Poker, and Sweet Nothing.

Live Albums

  • Peel Sessions – 2008 – Sweet Nothing
  • Live in the Mojave Desert: Volume 2 – 2021 – Giant Rock, Heavy Psych Sounds
  • Livewired in Europe – 2023 – Heavy Psych Sounds

Compilation Albums

  • Dos EPs – 2002 – MeteorCity
  • Demos & Outtakes 98–02 – 2019 – Heavy Psych Sounds

Featured Compilations

  • In the Groove (“Full Throttle”) – 1999 – The Music Cartel
  • “High Times” High Volume: The Stoner Rock Collection (“The Void”) – 2004 – High Times Records

Nebula’s journey has been marked by multiple lineup changes, a brief hiatus, and a reunion. Despite these challenges, they have maintained a consistent output of music that has garnered them a dedicated fan base. The band continues to be a staple in the American rock scene.